The Lobachevsky Medal and Prize

ЛобачевскийThe Lobachevsky Medal and Prize «For Outstanding Works in Geometry and Its Applications» are awarded by Kazan Federal University for scientific works, discoveries and inventions significant for science and practice in geometry and its applications.

The Lobachevsky Medal and 75 000 USD of prize money are given once in 5 years by Kazan Federal University for outstanding works in geometry and its applications. The awards ceremony is held on December 1 in the Alexander Hall of Kazan Federal University. The Medal and the Prize are presented by the President of the Republic of Tatarstan and the Chairman of KFU Academic Council.

The Medal and Prize are successors of the two previous awards:

The Lobachevsky Prize (1897 – 1937);

The Lobachevsky Medal (1992 – 2002).


ВасильевThe first International Lobachevsky Prize was introduced in 1895 by Kazan Physics and Mathematics Society under supervision of professor A. Vassiliev. The first prize was given in 1897 to Sophus Lie based on the review of F. Klein. Lie was awarded for his contribution to representation theory, and Klein was given as a special gold medal for this occasion. The prizes were handed out regularly until 1912 (including D. Hilbert in 1904), then again in 1927 (H. Weyl) and 1937 (E. Cartan).

In 1947 the right to give Lobachevsky Prize was transferred to the Soviet Academy of Sciences. In 1951 awards were given to N. Aleksandrov and N. Yefimov. In 1956 the prize became triennial. Post-World War II prize was a gold medal. Among the winners were A. Aleksandrov (1951), P. Aleksandrov (1972), B. Delaunay (1977), S. Novikov (1981), A. Kolmogorov (1986), L. Pontryagin (1966), V. Arnold (1992), G. Margulis (1996), Y. Reshetnyak (2000).

As a part of Lobachevsky’s 200th anniversary a new medal – this time awarded by Kazan University – was established. The medal was quinquennial. The first medal was given to A. Norden (Kazan University) for his works in normalization methods and non-Euclidean spaces. In 1997 two people were honored – M. Gromov for contributions to immersion theory and B. Komrakov for his works in homogeneous space and Lie groups. The last (as of now) prize was handed out in 2002 to Sh. Chern.